SIRGAS-WGI: Reference System

SIRGAS-WGI (Reference System) was established in 1993 along with the SIRGAS project. It is responsible for coordinating all the tasks needed to implement and maintain the SIRGAS reference frame. Initially, it coordinated the GPS campaigns for the establishment of the first two SIRGAS realizations SIRGAS95 and SIRGAS2000. At present, it takes care of the adequate functioning and analysis of the SIRGAS Continuously Operating Network SIRGAS-CON. Since 2005, SIRGAS-WGI promotes the installation of analysis centres for SIRGAS under the responsibility of Latin American institutions and the use of SIRGAS observations for atmospheric (ionosphere and troposphere) studies. As a result of these activities, at present, the following Analysis Centres are routinely operating:

  1. One SIRGAS Ionospheric Analysis Centre at the Universidad Nacional de La Plata (UNLP, Argentina) and one Experimental Analysis Centre for the Neutral Atmosphere (CIMA, Argentina);
  2. Eight SIRGAS Local Processing Centres under the responsibility of Latin American Institutions: CEPGE (Ecuador), CPAGS-LUZ (Venezuela), IBGE (Brazil), IGAC (Colombia), IGM (Chile), IGN-Ar (Argentina), INEGI (Mexico), and SGM-Uy (Uruguay);
  3. Two SIRGAS Combination Centres: IBGE (Brazil) and IGS RNAAC SIRGAS (DGFI-TUM, Germany).

Beyond the coordination of the interaction between the Operational Centres, the National Data Centres, and the SIRGAS Analysis Centres (Processing and Combination Centres), the SIRGAS-WGI continues promoting the establishment of new processing centres hosted by Latin American organizations. The main objective is that, in a near future, each SIRGAS member country become capable to process the data of its own continuously operating GNSS stations following the IGS standards.


Members of the SIRGAS-WGI

Víctor J. Cioce P. (vcioce @ fing.luz.edu.ve), Chair, CPAGS-LUZ, Venezuela
Mauricio Gende (mgende @ fcaglp.unlp.edu.ar), Network coordinator, GESA-UNLP, Argentina
Sonia Maria Alves Costa (sonia.alves @ ibge.gov.be), Analysis coordinator, IBGE, Brazil
Maria Virginia Mackern (vmackern @ mendoza-conicet.gov.ar), CIMA, Argentina
Marco Amores (marco.amores @ igm.gob.ec), CEPGE-IGM, Ecuador
Javier Benavides (javier.benavides @ igm.gob.ec), CEPGE-IGM, Ecuador
Oswaldo España (oswaldo.espana @ igm.gob.ec), CEPGE-IGM, Ecuador
Lenin Jaramillo (lenin.jaramillo @ igm.gob.ec), CEPGE-IGM, Ecuador
Alejandro Martínez (alejandro.martinez @ igm.gob.ec), CEPGE-IGM, Ecuador
María Fernanda Rincón (mfernanda.rinconc @ gmail.com), CPAGS-LUZ, Venezuela
Alberto Luis da Silva (alberto.luis @ ibge.gov.br), IBGE, Brazil
Marco Aurelio de Almeida Lima (marco.almeida @ ibge.gov.br), IBGE, Brazil
Flávio Scofano (flavio.scofano @ ibge.gov.br), IBGE, Brazil
Guiderlan Mantovani (guiderlan.mantovani @ ibge.gov.br), IBGE, Brazil
Ricardo Guevara (jguevara @ igac.gov.co), IGAC, Colombia
Francisco Mora (fmora @ igac.gov.co), IGAC, Colombia
Oscar Rodríguez (orodrig @ igac.gov.co), IGAC, Colombia
Héctor Parra Bravo (sirgaschile @ igm.cl), IGM, Chile
Sergio Rozas Bornes (sirgaschile @ igm.cl), IGM, Chile
Ignacio Parada (sirgaschile @ igm.cl), IGM, Chile
Claudio Reyes (sirgaschile @ igm.cl), IGM, Chile
Sergio Cimbaro (scimbaro @ ign.gob.ar), IGN, Argentina
Hernán Guagni (hguagni @ ign.gob.ar), IGN, Argentina
Diego Piñon (dpinon @ ign.gob.ar), IGN, Argentina
Gabriel Gaytán (gabriel.gaytan @ inegi.org.mx), INEGI, Mexico
Guillermo Gasca (guillermo.gasca @ inegi.org.mx), INEGI, Mexico
Guido González (guido.gonzalez @ inegi.org.mx), INEGI, Mexico
Daniel Piriz (daniel.piriz @ igm.gub.uy), IGM-Uy, Uruguay
Gustavo Caubarrère (gustavo.caubarrere @ igm.gub.uy), IGM-Uy, Uruguay
Roberto Silveira (roberto.silveira @ igm.gub.uy), IGM-Uy, Uruguay
Pedro Sandoval (pedro.sandoval @ igm.gub.uy), IGM-Uy, Uruguay
María Pía Sánchez (maria.sanchez @ igm.gub.uy), IGM-Uy, Uruguay
Bruno Silveira (bruno.silveira @ igm.gub.uy), IGM-Uy, Uruguay
Carolina Kaiser (carolina.kaiser @ igm.gub.uy), IGM-Uy, Uruguay
María Belén Gándara (maria.gandara @ igm.gub.uy), IGM-Uy, Uruguay
José Antonio Tarrío Mosquera (jose.tarrio @ usach.cl), USC, Chile
Marcelo Silva Caverlotti (marcelo.caverlotti @ usach.cl), USC, Chile
José Luis Borcosque Díaz (jose.borcosque @ usach.cl), USC, Chile
Angela Paz Ortega Castro (angela.ortega @ usach.cl), USC, Chile
Bernardo Andres Barraza López (bernardo.barraza @ usach.cl), USC, Chile
Fernando Isla (fernando.isla @ usach.cl), USC, Chile
Gonzalo Andres Lira Carrasco (centro.usc @ usach.cl), USC, Chile
Richard Alfredo Quiroga Rivas (centro.usc @ usach.cl), USC, Chile
Karina Alejandra Salinas Padilla (centro.usc @ usach.cl), USC, Chile
Patricio Ignacio Manuel Dario Cepeda Vargas (centro.usc @ usach.cl), USC, Chile
Bastian Ignacio Figueroa Carvajal (centro.usc @ usach.cl), USC, Chile
Jesarella Betania Inzunza Muñoz (centro.usc @ usach.cl), USC, Chile
Laura Sánchez (lm.sanchez @ tum.de), IGS RNAAC SIRGAS / DGFI-TUM, Germany

Past chairs

María Virginia Mackern (2008 - 2015), UN-Cuyo, U-Maza, Argentina
Sonia Maria Alves Costa (2007 - 2008), IBGE, Brazil
Claudio Brunini (2004 - 2007), UNLP, Argentina
Melvin Jesús Hoyer Romero (1993 - 2004), LUZ, Venezuela

Buenos Aires, Argentina
September 16-20, 2019

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
November 11-14, 2019

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
November 6-8, 2019