Home > Home

Dominican Republic: a new SIRGAS member

The Dominican Republic became a new SIRGAS member in March 2015. This procedure started in the frame of the "School on Reference Systems, Crustal Deformation and Ionosphere Monitoring" held in Panama City in October 2013. This was a capacity building activity supported by the project "Monitoring crustal deformation and the ionosphere by GPS in the Caribbean" sponsored by the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG) through the International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth's Interior (IASPEI), the International Association of Geodesy (IAG), and the International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA). This School was also supported by the Pan-American Institute for Geography and History (PAIGH). Thanks to the contact established in that opportunity, representatives of the Dominican Republic participated in the SIRGAS Symposia 2013 and 2014. As a result of this approach, we welcome the Dominican Republic as a new SIRGAS member and announce that the Symposium SIRGAS 2015 will take place in Santo Domingo under the coordination of the Universidad Nacional Pedro Henríquez Ureña (UNPHU).

Global Geodetic Reference Frame for Sustainable Development: Where places and people are

The 26th of February, 2015, the General Assembly of the United Nations adopted its first Resolution on the Global Geodetic Reference Frame for Sustainable Development. With this Resolution, it is recognized the importance of a globally–coordinated approach to Geodesy: the science focused on accurately measuring the shape, rotation and gravity field of planet Earth. SIRGAS, as the responsible for the reference frame in Latin America and the Caribbean, contributes to this initiative together with the International Association of Geodesy (IAG), the Pan-American Institute for Geography and History (PAIGH), the Regional Committee of the United Nations Global Geospatial Information Management for the Americas (UN-GGIM: Americas) y GeoSur.

More information about the adopted Resolution in this link.

New SIRGAS-CON stations

The following stations are added in January 2015 to the SIRGAS-CON network:

Brazil: AMTE (Tefe), MSCO (Corumba), PICR (Corrente), PIFL (Floriano), RNPF (Pau dos Ferros), RSCL (Cerro Largo), RSPE (Pelotas), SPDR (Dracena), SPLI (Lins-Unilins), SPPI (Piracicaba), SPSO (Sorocaba), SPTU (Tupa)
Uruguay: UYCL (Melo), UYRI (Rivera)

(c) 1993-2012 SIRGAS - All rights reserved - Last update: 02.04.2015 16:22